Secret place in Tuscany

by Samuele Sodini

Badia di Cantignano Church

Badia di Cantignano (Capannori City)

The name refers to an instrument of Cantignano 783 “in Actum Cantinianu” concerning a donation made by a Lombard Lucca for a daughter. The small church dating back to centuries. VII-VIII, with adjoining Benedictine abbey dedicated to St. Saviour seems to have been built on an old Roman building intended to baths, and was subsequently replaced by a new Romanesque church with a Latin cross in the sec. XIII, when the Benedictine monks Camaldolesi took over after the Cluniac reform.

The Benedictines took place first and reclamation of sewage water, thus bringing new land under cultivation, the Camaldolesi is also devoted to the cultivation of land and forestry. This place was given in fief to the bishops of Lucca by Otto with diploma of December 14, 1209, confirmed February 15, 1355 by Emperor Charles IV. The monastery was suppressed in 1419 and then aggregated with his possessions to the church and canons of the Cathedral of Lucca with the obligation to keep a parish priest.

In sec. XVIII The church was converted into Baroque style – eighteenth century, the length was shortened and demolished Romanesque fa├žade. During the years 1965-66 it was restored the priesthood and the apse and there were important archaeological discoveries.Camaldolese the church is still visible outside the apse with pilasters suspended. The bell tower replaced the earlier, smaller, 1898. Inside is a valuable painting by Agostino Marti.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: