Church of S. Quirico at Guamo, called “in Casale”
The small church of San Quirico is built in stone from the nearby quarry at Guamo. It is built like a cottage and it has a nave and fairly small apse. The door in the facade is surmounted by a lintel resting on two brackets.
Both the layout and the size of the stone bosses in the facing suggest that it is quite old and probably dates back to 1023, when it was first mentioned in documents. During the restoration work of about 1930, some 16th and 17th century sepulchral slabs were found and new altar was made from a single stone.
An unusual altarpiece of the Giotto school, a triptych incorporated in a quadrangular structure and surmounted by an inflected-arch lunette, comes from this church; now in the Villa Guinigi museum in Lucca, it depicts the Vergine in Trono con Bambino (on the central panel), and Maddalena and San Michele Arcangelo (on the side panels).