The convent of the Clarisse and the Church of Sant’Anna
The idea to build a convent in the centre of ontecarlo was implemented between the end of the 16th century and the beginning of the 17th, following the religious fervour created by the Council of Trent. It was built between 1610 and 1614 (from a design by the architect, Gherardo Menchini of Florence) and was enlarged subsequently with the inclkusion of the building that until then had been the residence of the Vicars of Montecarlo.
The running of the convent was entrusted to the Pooor Clares who remained there until 1810, when the religious community was expelled after the Napoleonic wars. The building was put up for auction and was subsequently redeemed and given to the Fondazione Pellegrini-Carmignani and used as a school for children.
The old convent complex, now in need of restoration, also includes the 17th century church of Sant’Anna, which is entered from Via Grande. Inside there is a Madonna in trono col Bambino e Santi of 1709 by Giovan Maria Corsetti and a San Lorenzo by Apollonio Nasini.